Meeting of the Working Group under eGovernance State Commission
02 May, 2014

Working group which was created in the scope of the state commission for the development of e-governance in Georgia held a meeting in the Ministry of Justice of Georgia, and discussed issues about these projects: Central system of identification, Unified governmental network, data exchange infrastructure, citizen’s portal, unified information registry of the state.

Working group includes representatives from different Ministries and Agencies.

With the use of information-communication technologies the state commission for the development of e-governance in Georgia aims to create a more developed management system which serves for the effective, and simplified methods of communication between a citizen and a state. As a result, a citizen is given a chance to use state services everywhere, any time, without having to leave office or house. One more important direction is the support of internalization of the country and working on this matter.

It is also important to use fast and secured ways of exchanging information between state organizations with the help of information-communication technologies and relevant platforms. This will result in increased effectiveness and transparency of state governance processes.

As the usage of information-communication systems is an important condition for carrying out e-governance project, the need for security of these systems arises as well. Therefore, the country carries out cyber and information security reforms, which is an important aspect of the commission’s work.

As a result of the implementation of the projects planned by the commission Georgia is positioned as a country which is technologically promoted in the region, all of which implies attractive investments, and closeness to EuroAtlantic space.

Organizational-technical support of the commission is carried out by the Data Exchange Agency of the Ministry of Justice of Georgia.

The commission is chaired by the Prime Minister of Georgia. The deputy chair of the commission is the Minister of Justice of Georgia.